Opinion

Should You Get Vaccinated?

2019-02-18 21:57 #0 by: Leia

You may have seen this guy called Ethan in the news last week. 

The 18-year-old decided that he wanted to be vaccinated for his birthday, even though his parents protested against it. Are you pro-vaccine or anti-vaccine?

All the best, Leia

Host of  Gluten-Free Living | News  | English Language Heart

Report
2019-02-19 09:43 #1 by: Evelina

Pro-vaccine. Don’t really have much to say about this topic. But is it a big movement in the Uk like it is in the US? To be anti-vaccine

Report
2019-02-19 11:52 #2 by: Leia

#2 I believe there is a minor group here in UK that is anti-vaccine, I think one of their big arguments is that it links to autism, although many argue that this is a myth. 

I'm all for vaccinations, especially given I have an auto-immune disease. I am a lot more susceptible to different illnesses and diseases. I'm lucky that I am eligible for a free Flu vaccine once a year here in Britain, most people will have to have private health care if they want that. 

All the best, Leia

Host of  Gluten-Free Living | News  | English Language Heart

Report
2019-02-19 12:41 #3 by: Evelina

I never get the flu vaccine tbh though! More because I am lazy than any other reason. I don’t recall ever getting one, maybe as a child.

Report
2019-02-19 13:12 #4 by: Niklas

I am very much for vaccinating against measles. The statistics I have seen are very convincing.

All breakouts (except one whose status was unknown) in Sweden in 2017 have been confirmed to affect unvaccinated or not completely vaccinated people. Measles is the vaccine-preventable disease that causes most deaths in the world. In 1980 2.6 million people globally died of measles, in 1990 it was 545,000 and in 2014 it was 73,000. Many millions of lives have been saved by the vaccines globally. The majority of the deaths are amongst children under 5 years of age.

Measles is one of our most contagious human diseases. About 90 percent of unvaccinated people in close contact with a measles-sick person is infected.

Rumors of measles vaccine causing autism are based on a faulty medical report from 1998. Much later the report was classified as conscious fraud.

Report
2019-02-21 12:53 #5 by: Leia

#4 those are statistics you just can't argue with in my opinion! 

All the best, Leia

Host of  Gluten-Free Living | News  | English Language Heart

Report
2019-02-21 13:05 #6 by: Niklas

Yeah. The problem is that those arguing against vaccine seldom use statistics to support their position.

Report
2019-03-11 10:18 #7 by: Niklas

Here’s a fresh example of possible effects of not getting proper vaccination. On the “good” side, vaccinated people seldom are affected by those who decide against vaccination and then turn sick.

“Public officials and health experts had given several warnings: Do not allow a student in school if they had not been vaccinated against measles.

Still, during New York City’s largest measles outbreak in a decade, a school in Brooklyn ignored that advice, resulting in one student infecting at least 21 other people with the virus.”

» Measles Outbreak: 1 Student Got 21 Others Sick - The New York Times

Report
2019-03-11 21:25 #8 by: Leia

#7 Imagine infecting 21 other people! That student must have felt awful, I wonder if that changed their minds about getting vaccinated 🤔

All the best, Leia

Host of  Gluten-Free Living | News  | English Language Heart

Report
2019-03-13 11:59 #9 by: Niklas

When they have had it, I think they are immune.

Report
2019-03-13 22:13 #10 by: Leia

"Schools across Italy have been ordered to turn away unvaccinated children under strict new laws that went into effect Monday.

Children under 6 years old will be banned from attending nursery and kindergarten if parents cannot provide proof of vaccination. Children between 6 and 16 cannot be flat-out banned from attending school, but parents will face fines up to $560 for sending their unvaccinated kids to class."

It seems Italy has a very strong opinion on vaccinations! 

Read more: https://nypost.com/2019/03/13/italy-bans-unvaccinated-kids-from-school/

All the best, Leia

Host of  Gluten-Free Living | News  | English Language Heart

Report
2019-03-14 23:35 #11 by: Tammie

Overall, I think it is probably better for kids to be vaccinated.

Happy creating!

Tammie

Host of Paints and Crafts

Report
2019-03-20 14:31 #12 by: Emo

Is the question just about measles or is it about other diseases too?

In general I am against vaccination and I have very good reason to be.

My website: American version
Min hemsida: Svensk version

Report
2019-03-20 23:27 #13 by: Leia

#12 About all major diseases! I am interested in hearing why you are against? 

All the best, Leia

Host of  Gluten-Free Living | News  | English Language Heart

Report
2019-03-21 04:05 #14 by: Emo

#13 I can tell you. I wrote to Niklas and I can copy most of it it here.

I hope I will be respected because I have so bad experiences about vaccination. Both my children were close to death because the were vaccinated. After what happened to our daughter I didn't let our son be vaccinated expect against smallpox according to law.

While he travels a lot he thougt he should be vaccinated against diphteria. Luckily they could start his heart when it stopped. After that no doctor dare to vaccinate him against other diseases.

My website: American version
Min hemsida: Svensk version

Report
2019-03-21 23:46 #15 by: Leia

#14 What a horrible experience for you to go through😢 I’m so sorry for that. I couldn’t imagine a more valid reason to be against vaccinations.

I guess unless a life threatening incident happens to you, it’s not something you even think about, it hadn’t crossed my mind until now.

Overall, I think it is a personal choice and I would never judge or think less of person who chose not to be vaccinated, especially if that person was in your situation. Everyone is free to make their own decision🙂.

All the best, Leia

Host of  Gluten-Free Living | News  | English Language Heart

Report
2019-03-22 07:07 #16 by: Emo

#15 You are right. I hadn't thought about it in years but now I begun to thing about if I hadn't been so hard against vaccination at that time, maybe my son hadn't survived. I thought about if I had let then vaccinate him what could have been the result Crying

My website: American version
Min hemsida: Svensk version

Report

There is anohter comment in this discussion. It is, however, only visible for logged in members. To read the comment, log in or register to become a member.