Annons:
Tagopinion
Read 929 times
Niklas
2019-04-11 12:54

What does it take to make a happy career?

Image 1. Click to open in original size.

I worked in the finance industry for twenty years. Mostly I had fun, creative and rewarding jobs and I received a lot of recognition for my work. As the years went by I climbed up the professional ladder. Higher salary, more responsibility, more outside pressure, and more competitive colleagues. My last period as employee of an asset management company, I was responsible for a group of IT people. They were mostly senior project managers, systems managers and developers.

Among my responsibilities was notifying employees if and how much bonus they would receive. It may sound like a pleasant task. I thought it would be. That was until I told a project manager that we were very happy with what the person had accomplished the year before and therefore would like to give them a bonus equivalent of a couple of months salary. This was a person who had a very respectable salary, so it was a lot of money.

After staying quiet for several seconds the person looked at me and said, “this feels like a slap in the face!”. The employee clearly was not satisfied with the bonus received. A bonus that by no means was a given. Not all employees received bonuses and most of those who did came nowhere near what this person got.

Why did this happen? On the surface, this person seemed to have everything necessary in life and a lot in addition to that. I was stunned by the reaction. It made me surprised and sad. In hindsight I don't think the bonus was the real source of disappointment. I think something else was missing.

Below is an excerpt from an article in The New York Times. The author describes meeting with former classmates at a Harvard Business School class reunion: